The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper, the author argues that to prevent farmers from continuing to receive inflated profits, the Batavia government should begin to moderate retail milk prices. The author bases this conclusion on the increase in the number of dairy farms seen in the last decade, and subsequently the paradoxical doubling in the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market. However, while the author’s conclusion may seem to hold water, it relies on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness and cogency of the argument. Thus, to fully evaluate the proposed recommendation, the following three questions need to be answered.

First of all, was the report from the department of agriculture a parametric research study? That is, there may be a possibility that a decade ago, there was a high level of complacency within the members of the department. Perhaps, a recent government was installed into office that called for meticulousness in conduction such surveys. This therefore could indicate a possible flaw in the author’s logic. Additionally, there is a potential that the results were unintentionally misrepresented by the department. If any of these scenarios has merit, the author’s contention is severely weakened.

Secondly, does the observation in Excello Food Market apply to all retail stores? The author unintentionally assumes that a form of generalization can be made from a single observation. Perhaps Excello is situated in a high-end society and has to pay exorbitant prices for accommodation leading to the increase in its prices. Furthermore, it is also possible that Excello is currently facing an economic breakdown that has led to this observation. In this case, it will have to increase its prices to cope in the business world. These scenarios have nothing to do with farmers receiving excessive profits and therefore render the author’s assertion hamstrung.

Third, could there be another possible explanation for the observations cited by the author? Perhaps the technology adopted 10 years ago for farming in fairly inexpensive compared to what is used now. If the cost of maintaining an advanced machine is too high, farmers may need to increase retail prices in other to keep up with the increase in demand. If this proves true, the author’s contention will lose credibility.

Finally, even if the evidence provided proves true, will increasing the regulations on retail prices lead to a decrease in contrived inflation? There is a possibility that farmers just circumvent the entire procedure. The farmers may engage in underhand and shady sales to keep up with the ever increasing demand from the fast growing population of Bativia. There is also a possibility that the government do not have a means to sustain the regulations provided. If any of these cases proves likely, the author’s loses significant validity.

In conclusion, albeit the author’s contention has some merit regarding a regulation of prices to curb unnecessary inflation, more data (preferably in the form of an academic research study) is required for a firm conclusion to be made. Thus, to fully examine the recommendation, the author will need to provide answers to the three questions posed above.