A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

The choice of adopting a national curriculum for students is not a trivial one. Nations partner with academic bodies and research institution before deciding to make a decision on the issue. The prompt suggests that a country should demand all its pupils to have a homogenous syllabus up until their undergraduate study. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the suggestion of an identical scheme for the folllowing two reasons.

First of all, I believe it levels the playing ground for all citizens of the federation, hereby giving every child an equal chance to make an informed decision concerning a course of study or whether college is in fact relevant to them while equally equipping them with basic educational skills needed within the country. For instance, in the late 1990s, before the adoption of one curriculum in Nigeria, students in the North were not mandated to learn English (which was the language adopted by the nation). This led to a perceptible division between the Northerners and the Southerners. An academic study carried by the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) showed thatt southern educated students performed better in college than thier nothern counterparts. This led to the northeners graduating with lower grades, gettting little access to opportunities of work, and finally decreasing thier standard of living. The above example illustrates the potential ripple effect that disparate syllabuses can have on an economy and the standard of living of its citizens. Governments should agree on an homogenous curriculum which matches the interest and values of the federation to ensure it doesn't face these issues.

Secondly, it is my view that having students learn virtually the same thing builds harmony for a nation. For example, students all over the country will probaly have learnt the same songs and mmemonics while growing up. This will lead to a sense of national unity that will be vital for running a peaceful government as everyone will feel included in the country. What will follow will be a decline in national crimes relating to security and an increase in trade within the nation.

One might argue that having a variety of differing educational schemes might be good to enhance innovation among students. However, while this might hold true for a few, the vast majority of the populace on the other will suffer with issues regarding a lack of congruency. Thus, it is extremely crucial a nation should have a singular unique syllabus for all of its students until when they are mature enough to decide for themselves in college.