Commuters complain that increased rush hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time The favored proposal of the motorists lobby is to widen the highway adding an additional lane of traffic Opponents

In the editorial published in the local newspaper, opponents argue that adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway will reduce rush-hour traffic, citing commuter concerns about their commuting time being doubled. Opponents point to the worsening of traffic congestion during the establishment of a lane on Green Highway last year, as well as that, many neighborhood residents are avid bikers, as proof of their position. However, three questions must be addressed before this recommendation may be properly examined.

To begin with, how similar are Green Highway and Blue Highway? Is there enough information that the two motorways are comparable enough to make broad generalizations about them? It is possible that Green Highway passes through a city while Blue Highway passes through rural suburbs. Perhaps Green Highway is a federal highway that has largely been abandoned, resulting in poor highway maintenance and increased commuting time, whereas Blue Highway is a well-funded state highway that is in pristine condition. The opponents' advice will be weakened due to the realism of these events.

Second, are the residents of the region the primary users of Blue Highway? In other words, opponents estimate they make up a big portion of highway commuters. This, however, may not be the case. It's probable that only a few individuals live along Blue Highway, resulting in a barely noticeable difference in traffic during rush hour. Further, it is also likely that the majority of people in the area work from home and don't travel on the Blue Highway. If these eventualities are found to be plausible, the opponents' case will be significantly weakened.

Third, will the creation of a new bicycle lane increase traffic on Blue Highway by causing more accidents? Adding a bike lane, which could exacerbate the issues mentioned by Blue Highway commuters, will be counterproductive. The addition of a bicycle lane may result in more collisions between bicycles and other automobiles. Additionally, the time required to obtain medical attention and clear up any possible incidents will result in an increase in traffic. If these possibilities are true, the opponents' recommendations will be invalid.

To summarize, the recommendation is severely faulty as it stands due to its dependence on multiple unfounded assumptions. More evidence (ideally in the form of a parametric research study) will be requested from the opponents to back up their allegations. These will be critical in determining whether the proposed recommendation to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway is plausible.