The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

In the letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner, it is stated that prohibiting skateboarding in Central Plaza will bring back the business in Central Plaza to its previously high levels. The Central Plaza store owner has come to this conclusion based on dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza as well as the increase in the number of skateboard users in the plaza. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, are there complaints against the skateboarders from the Plaza users? In other words, how did the store owner claim that increased amount of litter and vandalism is caused due to the skateboarders and not any other factors? It is possible that increased amount of litter is due to irregularity or negligence from the cleaning staff. Further, there is a possibility that improper waste disposal solution implemented at the Plaza might also be a reason for this. Maybe, the number of hooligans living around the city might have increased causing the rise in Vandalism at Central Plaza. Perhaps, the skateboarders are very amiable. If either of the above scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, business at Central Plaza is dependent on what external factors? In other words, rapid development in technology and busy schedule of humans has given rise to increased usage of online retail websites and application, thus reducing the business for in person shopping. Perhaps, the shops at Central Plaza are of no interest or value to the customers living around. Maybe, the shops do not have new products that are in demand. It is possible that people prefer online shopping over driving down to the Plaza because of heavy traffic or time constraints. If any of the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, will the business at Central Plaza deteriorate further by prohibiting skateboarders? It’s a possibility that skateboarders might be the major part of the consumers at Central Plaza. Perhaps, having skateboarders in the Central Plaza attracts the attention of people with their tricks and entertaining show. By prohibiting skateboarders in the Plaza, it might create a humdrum environment which further brings down the business. If the above are true, then the original argument loses its position.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the store owner is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps with a better survey), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to prohibit skateboarders from Central Plaza, in order to bring back the business to its previous high levels.