As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the past decade, the rapid growth in technology has revolutionized the way humans function on a daily basis. The advance in technology has simplified many convoluted tasks for human. The technological inventions that make human life simpler are so easy to access and use, that it has become a quotidian affair to depend heavily on it to solve their daily life problems. The prompt suggests that this dependability on technology to solve problems will deteriorate the ability of humans to think on their own when faced with adversity. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this suggestion and argue that technology is a boon, that resolves many difficult issues and it's up to the humans of how we make the best use of it for three reasons.

To begin with, there are many new world-changing innovations occurring across the globe, because of the availability of any kind of information at a click of a button to anybody with interest in acquiring it. Technology has made the world a global village for information. It connects people with similar interests to develop on their ideas. Thus, with the use of technology people can broaden their thinking process and learn about new angles possible to it from experts around the world. For instance, if a person with the idea to develop an application to protect the endangered Rhino in the Amazon forest needs funding, they could post their idea on any public platform and he or she will receive help from people around the globe who are fighting for the same cause. They might get more than funding, they will also find people who can improve upon on their original idea and expand it. Consequently, the quality of the developed product will be much higher because of the coalition of unique thinking of many individuals. The above example illustrates that use of technology can enhance the thinking of process of not just one individual but many individuals with similar interests.

Further, the use of technology reduces the time human spends on trivial mundane tasks, thus giving him or her more space to focus on the important things. For instance, home automation has automated the daily chores of human life like cleaning, washing etc., which can now be done in just minutes by operating few buttons on a machine which would otherwise take hours to complete it. Doing these routine tasks will in no way improve the cognitive abilities of human, will it? Thus, with this additional time, human can focus more on the portentous topics that can benefit him and the society.

However, the case of obesity and poverty has increased in the last decade along with the advance in technology.

Some Humans have used the technology to simplify their daily lives and with the additional time they get, they have been torpor about it. For example, research says that with increase in fast food chains and the food delivery applications, the number of people who cook freshly at home has declined. The most ordered food is junk and unhealthy. Humans have compromised their health with easy access to cooked food. Another example is the reduced mathematical thinking amongst the adults today. Even to do a simple multiplication calculation they rely on the calculator to be doubly sure of the results rather than trusting their thinking ability. These examples show that in few cases technology has decreased the human ability to think on their own.

Every individual is unique and the thinking process of humans varies vastly across the continents. The perspective of each human is very different on a same topic. Thus, this issue regarding technology deteriorating the human thinking ability is complex and varies from individual to individual and cannot be generalized. There will be few humans who will make the best use of what technology has to offer and improve their quality of life and other humans who use it as an excuse to laze around. Hopefully, humans go for the former approach and use the technology to expand their thinking ability.