The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the editor, the central plaza store owner has stated that the number of shoppers in the central plaza have been gradually alleviating with skateboarding becoming popular dramatically. The owner states this with evidence that the decrease in business is mainly due to increase in the number of skateboard users. Additionaly, there is dramatic increase in the litter and vandalism throughout the plaza and hence has concluded that skateboarding needs to be strictly prohibited in the plaza which will result in rise of business to it's previously high levels. Before this can be concluded, it is important to have a few questions answeres before this recommendation canbe considered.

Firstly,the letter prematurely assumes that the fall in business of shoppers in central plaza is solely due to skateboarders. The owner fails to consider that the loss of shoppers might also be due to new malls and stores coming up in the area. It might be for instance that these malls sell a larger veriety of goods at better quality than the old shops did. The customers might have stopped coming to the old shops due to lack of quality and better prices and hence led to and closure of their business. Additionaly , the goods that these shops sold in past might have become outdated and not in par with the current market requirement and customer needs. If either of the scenarios are true then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, The letter also concludes that the skateboarders are responsible for all the litter and chaos in the plaza. It fails to assume that the litter could have also been caused by the different shop owners and various other people which inturn led to the drastic drop in the number of customers visiting the store due to lack of maintainance and hygene in plaza. The owner fails to give clear proof and evidence as to how a simple outdoor activity like skateboarding causes so much vandilism, ruccus and damage to the business of these shops. The possibility of a bad customer service also cannot be ignored. Maybe most of the shoppers in the central plaza are not open minded and their continuous refusal to negotiate and provide good service let to bitterness and fights in the plaza. Since the letter states. The argumentation and recommendation could have been justified if the owner threw more light on the actual causes of vandilism. Since it fails to doso, the argument is clearly flawed and ineffectual.

Hence, in conclusion, The argument does not hold merit due to it's reliance on several unwarrented assumptions. In order to evaluate the viability of the argument, the letter needs to be backed with more evidence against the skateboarders with elluciadive proofs.