The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer predicts that the banning of skateboarding in Central Plaza will cause the normalization of business in the plaza. This is based on some premises he/she has identified. For this prediction to be true, there are three pertinent questions that need to be answered.

Firstly, the writer assumes that the increase in the popularity of skateboarding is the primary cause of the decline witnessed in the number of shoppers in the plaza over the past two years. Can the writer demonstrate a direct relationship between the decline of shoppers and the rise in skateboarding? Could the decline be as a result of other factors including the decline in quality of business within the plaza, increase in price of goods sold by the shop owners or the use of the shops for other things by the owners giving it out? Also, there is the possibility of novel shops around the area of the plaza which could be the reason for the decline of people coming to Central Plaza. For this to prediction to be accurate, the author needs to demonstrate a causal-effect relationship between these two parameters.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the number of shop owners asked about their opinion on the cause of the decline in business activities are truly representative of the business owners in the plaza. The author should be asked about possible scenario where there is increase in sales of skateboarding utilities. If such shop owners are asked the same question, they would probably beg to differ on the assertion made concerning the drop in sales within the plaza. In addition, the increase in skateboarding could have caused an increase in sales of other consumables. In order for the assumption to hold ground, the author needs to provide the answer to the question, which segment of the Central Plaza shop owners belief that the decline is as a result of increase in skateboarding within the plaza.

Finally, the authors stated that there has been an increase in the amount of litter and vandalism within the plaza. The question is, what proof does the writer have to back this claim? What was the waste generated volume prior to the time this observation was made and what is the current waste volume? What evidence does the writer has to bolster his/her claim that the increase is as a result of increase skateboarding in the plaza? Has the author ruled out the possibility of miscreants bugling the plaza or possible increase of delinquent within the plaza as a cause of the increase litters and vandalism within the plaza? For the assumption to be valid, the author needs to rule out all other recourse before this recommendation can be made.

In conclusion, the prediction that the business in Central Plaza will skyrocket following the banning of skateboarding activities can only be valid if the author can provide strong evidence to support his prediction by answering the questions highlighted above especially, demonstrating the direct relationship between the increase in skateboarding activities and effects stated in the argument.