The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author maintains that the activity in Central Plaza has decreased due to the increased presence of skateboarders, thus the city should not allow skateboarding in the plaza. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention key factors, creating a discrepancy in the author’s claim. To support this argument, the author reasons that, not only has the increase in skateboarding led to fewer shoppers, but has also led to the increase in litter and vandalism present in the plaza. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence provides little credible support for the author’s intended results. Hence the argument can be considered lacking and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author assumes that the skateboarding activity is the main reason for the decline in shopping activity; possibly because of the repellant effect the skateboarders have on the public. This is merely a baseless assumption made without solid ground. Accordingly, it would be necessary to know from the customers themselves if the reason that they’ve stopped shopping at the plaza is due to the skateboarders. For example, the people who used to shop at the plaza might have stopped coming for a different reason altogether. If it was determined that shoppers were going to a nearby plaza, then prohibiting skateboarding would not increase the number of shoppers.

Moreover, the argument claims that there is an increase in trash and vandalism of the plaza which would decrease if a restriction on skateboarding were placed. This again is a weak unsupported claim as it is unsuccessful in drawing a correlation between the skateboarders actually contributing to the litter and vandalism themselves. If the argument provided evidence, that the skateboarders were seen littering and vandalizing the area by the shopkeepers and customers then it would be more convincing to the reader that banning skateboarding to put an end to this disruption. However, if this was not the case and it was found to be a different group of people, then vandalization and the appearance of the plaza would continue to suffer after the prohibition is passed.

Finally, the author believes that the activity levels of the plaza will return to its high levels as it was two years ago. Where have the shoppers been going in the meantime? Have they been lured by internet shopping due to greater convenience and lower prices compared to shops in the plaza? A lack of answers to these questions gives the impression that the claim that the plaza will return to its former popularity is more wishful thinking than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s flawed argument stemming from the aforementioned reasons is therefore questionable. It could be considerably strengthened if the author provided more concrete evidence, perhaps by a survey of the past and present customers on their reasons for or for not shopping at the plaza. Ultimately, to better evaluate the recommendation that skateboarders should not be allowed to skate at the plaza, it is necessary to have full knowledge of the events taking place is negatively affecting activity levels. Consequently, without this information, the recommendation remains equivocal and open to debate.