The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author’s claim here is that the birth order is important in determining the level of cortisol production. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention key factors, on the basis of which it is evaluated. To support their argument, the author reasons that a rhesus monkey study shows that first-born offsprings have higher levels of cortisol level when placed under stimulating situations. However, careful scrutiny of the argument reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Hence the argument is considered lacking or unsubstantiated due to the possibilities of alternate explanations.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the rhesus monkey infants all share the same awareness as each other. This is merely an assumption made without solid ground. For example, the first-born would be older and more aware of their environment compared to the infant born last. And so, the first-born would be more stressed in a situation such as being introduced to an unfamiliar monkey which would lead to higher cortisol levels. Hence it would have been more convincing if it was explicitly stated that the rhesus monkey infants were of similar age where their level of understanding and stimulation would be the same.

Secondly, the argument also claims that monkeys who were first time mothers had higher levels of cortisol during their pregnancy. This again is weak and unsupported claim as it does not establish a clear correlation between the levels of cortisol and the conditions surrounding their pregnancy. To illustrate further, the first pregnancy would indicate that the female monkey does not have any blood related family around her while she’s carrying her baby. Thus, the next time she carries another baby she’ll be supported and comforted by her offsprings who are part of her circle. If the argument had provided evidence that the female rhesus was under the same social conditions each pregnancy, then it would have been more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author states that first-born humans also produce high levels of cortisol in distressing situations such as their parent leaving the room. Why is there no mention of the second or third born child and their cortisol levels in similar situations? Was the first-born human in an unfamiliar room when the test was done? Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore questionable. It could be considerably strengthened if the author provided more concrete details as to how the studies were done and under what conditions. Finally to better evaluate whether cortisol levels are indeed related to birth orders, it would be necessary to have full knowledge of full contributing factors. In this particular case, the possible conditions and environment that could also increase cortisol levels. Without this information, the argument remains equivocal and open to debate.