Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The topic poses a controversial issue of whether it is necessary for the government to financially support major cities in order to ensure that the generation and preservation of the nation’s cultural traditions are continued. Presumably, because there are more people living in cities, this then leads to a greater possibility that traditions belonging to that country will be upheld. Nonetheless, major cities can have such a diverse population that even with financial support, traditions are not guaranteed to survive over time. Individuals who come from different backgrounds and upbringings can bring traditions from their own culture, altering what the government may want to preserve. Thus, I would generally disagree with the opinion that the government should divert money from their nation’s budget to cities with the intention of preventing the transformation of traditions and would argue that traditions are meant to evolve and change over time.

First of all, traditions do not have the same meaning for everyone living in a city. I would like to point out that, in major cities, there are always people coming and going and so the population is never constant. To elucidate, let’s look at an example of the Japanese settling in Hawaii after the war. Evidence of the traditions and influence the Japanese in the islands are evident by the present restaurants and Japanese decor prominent in shopping centers and food courts. Therefore, it is pretty obvious that traditions can change dependent on the people and where they come from.

Furthermore, traditions aren’t always positive and therefore need to be changed to reflect the values of society. To further explain, let’s look at the Civil Rights Movement which sought to change the traditions of separating white and colored individuals. The government was determined to keep the separation in public institutions like schools and public transportation, but failed in the end. This happened because, what was valued changed over time due to changing perspective and increased awareness.

Certainly, not all traditions are negative and some are so positive that they bring people together and create stronger relations. This is especially true when it comes to traditions in sports, like during the Superbowl season where friends and family come together to support their teams through parties and gatherings. In addition, the tradition of watching and supporting the football teams is harmless and strengthens emotions for a particular city that the team belongs to. However, the above argument does not constitute sufficient support to claim that money from the government is needed to keep this tradition alive.

In conclusion, although there exist positive traditions that gather people together, traditions belonging to a nation is ever changing. As long as people continue to travel and move to new countries, traditions will always be altered and either strengthened or forgotten regardless of financial support from the government. In fact, financial support can be funded to cities to help change the harmful traditions so that negativity and hate can be eradicated from the countries.