The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily the argument is based on the unwarranted assumptions that traffic demand of two different locations are considered same. Which is technically wrong because vehicular traffic of any location depends upon so many factors.

First of all, writer has failed to provide a traffic survey data which acts as a supporting document for the assumption which they have made that both Blue Highway and Green Highway are similar in terms of traffic related problems. Through this traffic data we can analyse and we can identify the factors which are affecting the traffic movement. If factors causing traffic problems for both the highways are same then, writer assumption can be considered as valid.

In addition to this the writer is blindly believing that traffic will remain constant in course of time. Which is also invalid thus makes his argument filled with flaws. Due to increase in population and demand in job opportunities, the traffic grows subsequently. Hence its foolishness to assume traffic in two different years remain same. According to official Transportation Research bodies, any city will see traffic growth rate of about 5% in urban area. This clearly indicates that we cannot come to conclusion that, a solution given to one highway will fit as a solution to other highway also or if solution does not works for one project will not work for other road project also.

Adding to this one more flaw in assumption that, suggesting an alternate solution in terms of providing bicycle lane to reduce traffic problem in Blue Highway just by knowing that local residents are interested in cycling. This data is insufficient which fails to provide information about how much proportion of people are interested in cycling. Even if they are interested, it’s important to know whether they are ready to go office by mode of cycling.

In the end, adding a bicycle track to Blue highway is appreciable one but, without having a sufficient technical data to support this proposal may not be successful in reducing a traffic related problems in the vicinity.