The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper.

“Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists’ lobby is to widen the highway,adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year’s addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the editorial front he local newspaper, it is stated that opponents of the motorists’ lobbies’ plan to add another lane to Blue Highway have instead advocated that a bicycle lane be constructed in order to alleviate the highway’s traffic issues. The opponents have come to this conclusion based on the issues faced by Green Highway last year as well as the keen interest in bicycling of the area’s local residents. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, are Green Highway and Blue Highway roughly comparable? In other words, can circumstances from one highway be used to make generalizations and predictions about the other? It is possible that Green Highway and Blue Highway are not similar at all -- perhaps Green Highway runs through residential neighborhoods, whereas Blue Highway is located mostly in rural, unpopulated sections of the city. Further, there is a possibility that the quality of the highways is markedly different, with Green Highway’s roads falling apart and Blue highway’s in pristine condition. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, do a majority of the area residents interested in biking live within biking distance of their places of employment? The opponents in the argument prematurely assume that many of the residents in the town will bike to work in the morning rather than drive their cars.However, this might not be the case. Perhaps the average distance from home to work is over 15 kms, and that's why many of the residents are essentially obliged to take the highway -- even if they dont want to. In an ideal world, they might choose to bike to work, but if the reality is such that they cannot due to the logistics of their situations, then only one form of transportation (the car via the highway) is possible. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, does adding bicycle lanes to the highway ensure that there will be no accidents? Instead of reducing the commute time, the accidents would result in more traffic delays than the current situation. It might happen that the people who tend to drive rashly would take the bicycle lanes in order to travel faster, which in turn would cause severe accidents causing traffic jams. Also, bicycle riders have very few safety measures -- mostly just helmets and knee pads -- which compromises their lives on the highway. This would again weaken the argument significantly.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwanted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to add a bike lane to Blue Highway.