1 quot Commuters complain that increased rush hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time The favored proposal of the motorists 039 lobby is to widen the highway adding an additional lane of

There is a problem of traffic jam in Blue Highway published in local newspaper. Motorists suggest that simply widening the road would solve the issue, however opposing group argues only solution to this problem is through adding a bicycle line. Although, opposing group’s idea seems logical at first glance, there are certain assumptions which weaken their position. To ensure the effectiveness of the second group’s solution, 3 main questions need to be answered.

Firstly, members of the opposing group assume that as residents are fond of bicycles, paving a bike road will motivate them to ride bicycles and decrease the usage of cars. However, if the people using the Blue Highway need to ride for more than 3-4 kilometers, before mentioned scenario is unlikely. Also, even if the destination is not that far, if we consider weather conditions during winter, number of riders will surely decrease. Thus, such assumption needs to be proven before being accepted as a fact. One way for ensuring the future usage of the bikes, is through completing reports and asking residents whether they will use the bicycles daily on the Blue Highway, instead of cars or not.

Secondly, even if people begin using bikes during rush hour, it is still ambiguous and unsupported to assume that traffic problem will be solved. Maybe, certain portion of people will stop driving cars, but still important portion of them simply will not have such luxury. Considering it is a highway and not inner city road, it is possible that companies use this road for logistical purposes. If trucks or similar heavy machinery will use the highway, traffic jam might not be solved entirely as they do not have the option of using bike lines. Thus, the data of heavy machinery using this highway should be collected and considered.

Thirdly, it is assumed that last year’s line addition worsened existing traffic. However, other causes of the issue should be eliminated before assuming it. It is possible that although adding new line, lightened the jam, sudden increase in number of residents in suburbs who works in city center, made the problem actual again. For this reason, comparing the usage of the highway in last year and this year might give new view to the problem. If increase of the highway usage compared to last year is a fact, then adding another lane could solve the issue.

In conclusion, although argument of adding new bike line solving the traffic jam holds water, answers of 3 questions are necessary to evaluate the situation correctly: real number of prospective bike users who will decline the usage of cars, number of heavy machinery using the highway and lastly, comparison of the usage of the highway between last year and this year. Only after analyzing above mentioned questions, one can adequately decide how to solve the traffic jam issue.