Commuters complain that increased rush hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time The favored proposal of the motorists lobby is to widen the highway adding an additional lane of traffic But last

The editorial in a local newspaper stated that the motorists' lobby proposed adding an additional lane to solve the traffic problem on Blue Highway. Meanwhile, opponents of the motorists' lobby suggested adding a bike lane to Blue Highway. These opponents claim that an additional lane would not help the traffic problem since it did not work well last year on nearby Green Highway. Moreover, many people in the area enjoy riding bicycles, and adding a bicycle lane would encourage them to commute to work by bike. **However, to properly evaluate the opponents' recommendation, the some questions need to be answered.**

First of all, are the two highways comparable? The condition of Green Highway could be very different from Blue Highway, and we cannot know if the failure of an additional lane on Green Highway will also happen on Blue Highway. It is possible that Green Highway is located between two busy cities while Blue Highway is located between the suburbs and the city center. Furthermore, there could be a significant difference in the length of the two highways. Perhaps Blue Highway is 100 kilometers, but Green Highway is only 10 kilometers. If these differences exist, the opponents' claim would be weakened.

Secondly, are residents who enjoy bicycling willing to ride to work? People who enjoy riding bicycles might not necessarily want to commute to work by bike. It is possible that many residents work 50 kilometers from home, making it difficult to ride for such a long time. Additionally, the air quality might be poor if the bicycle lane is built near the highway, and residents would not want to ride bicycles while breathing polluted air from other cars. If the above are true, then the recommendation may not hold.

In conclusion, the argument suggested by the opponents of the motorists' lobby is significantly flawed since it depends on several unwarranted assumptions. If the questions above can be answered or more evidence is provided, then it will be possible to thoroughly evaluate the recommendation of adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway.