The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper Your recent article on corporate downsizing in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship o

According to the letter of a national newspaper, the author asserts the downsizing has no deleterious impact on the majority of workers who have lost jobs. As his pieces of evidence, he states that lots of jobs have been created and the low unemployment rate in Elthyria. Also, he states that these jobs are suitable for those who have been downsized. This argument might seem persuasive at first but to move forward would certainly require more evidence and thought for three reasons.

First, the author needs to provide solid evidence on the innate condition of 1999 and the present to prove that the downsized people actually acquired new jobs. The author rashly believes the inherent condition of 1999 and the present are similar. However, it is plausible the economic condition of 1999 was sound and that of recent is adverse. In such a case, new jobs would not be created enough to afford the downsized people. Also, in all likelihood, the population in Elthyria might have increased at an unprecedented speed. In such a case, the increase of jobs would be insufficient to accommodate the downsized workers. Rather than re-hiring the downsized worker, it would be only logical to think the majority of job services are allocated to the increased population. Thus, the increase in jobs created is insufficient compared to the increase in population growth.

Second, the author needs to supplement the argument with more concrete evidence on the relationship between the unemployment rate and competent workers finding suitable jobs. He hastily reasons that the low level of the unemployment rate is the result of job finding of the downsized workers. However, it is plausible that those who lost jobs did not obtain the newly created job. In such a case, those who lost jobs due to the downsizing still do suffer from unemployment. Even though they obtained newly created jobs, it does not guarantee the quality of the jobs. As they are competent workers, the quality of the jobs matters. It is possible these jobs proposed are not suitable for then. Then, the competent workers are not benefitting from the low unemployment rate.

Lastly, more specific evidence is needed on the newly created jobs in industries "tend to" pay above-average wages. The author adamantly states that two-third of these jobs have been in the industries only tend to pay above average wage. Does it mean one-third of these jobs otherwise pay below-average wages? Or does it mean most of two-third of these jobs can actually pay below average occasionally? It is plausible that the industry peremptorily changes their policy of wage and does not pay above-average anymore. Or the above average payment can be just an aberration. In addition, if the initial number of jobs is marginal, two-thirds may not be substantial. To elucidate, two-third may be just a marginal number regarding the number of jobs lost. Then the author's claim is not cogent to warrant that the corporate downsizing does not have a deleterious impact on fired workers.

By examining all the various angles and factors involved with corporate downsizing, it can be concluded that the author's claim are not cogent. To bolster his argument, he should provide more verified information about the economic condition and other circumstances of the past and present. Also, he should suggest accurate information of the newly created