One month ago all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one third of what it used to be Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not

According to the letter, the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex asserts that the apartment would benefit greatly by modifying showerheads throughout all twelve buildings. As the pieces of evidence, the owner states the modification would present considerable savings for the apartment and refers to only a few problems reported regarding the change. This argument might seem persuasive at first but to move forward would certainly require more evidence and thought for three reasons.

First, the owner needs to provide more evidence on the probable savings for Sunnyside Corporation to prove the change will lead to a considerable saving. The owner adamantly believes the unavailability of actual reading would have no significant effect at all. However, it is entirely possible that the residents may use more water after the change, not hesitating to take a longer shower. In such a case, "believing" they are using less water, the residents would use more water, paying rather much for water each month. Even though the water usage indeed decreased due to the modification, it can be claimed that the cost of the change may outweigh the savings from decreased usage without more information on the expenses of the modification. Then, the change will not result in considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation. Rather, it may result in more expenditure.

Next, the owner needs to supplement the argument with more concrete evidence on the potential problems regarding the change. He rashly dismisses the complaints about low water pressure as marginal. However, it is plausible that the complaints would be substantial in a long run. Also, in all likelihood, the owner hastily ignores the possibility of the problems with showers since nothing was reported within only "a month". Would other potential problems such as defects or fragility in showerheads certainly not be reported months later? Even if there may be indeed marginal complaints and no problem, it may be only temporary. Then the modification may be of no avail.

Lastly, more specific evidence is needed on the soundness of the conclusion that the Sunnyside Towers complex will reap benefits from modifying showerheads throughout all twelve buildings. The argument is a bit far-fetched in stating that all buildings should change their showerheads. It must be taken into account that the inherent conditions of the buildings would differ. Even though the first three buildings can save considerable water usage by the modification, the residents on others would already have been skimping on the water usage. Moreover, the saving may be in pale comparison with the expenses on the changing for 12 buildings. In other words, the cost may be substantial but the saving may be marginal. It may be better to not adopt the modification.

By examining all the various angles and factors involved with the modification of showerheads in Sunnyside Corporation, it can be concluded that the owner argument is not cogent. To bolster it, he needs to give more verified information on potential problems and the expenses of modifications in the long run.