The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper the author states that organized athletics should be discontinued in Parkville due to the numerous negative impacts. The evidence is that the children suffer from practices being too long, injuries are on the rise, and unfavorable results from psychological pressure. However, the argument should be considered flawed and unconvincing due to its reliance on several unsupported assumptions.

First of all, the author assumes that by shortening the long practice sessions there could be more time used for the children’s academic activities. Perhaps shorter practice sessions lead to more time the kids play video games, or sleep, or watch television. Just because the children have more time available does not mean they will devote that time to studying. If this scenario is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Futhermore, the writer presumes that the sports related injuries in child athletes will continue to increase. It is possible that new technology, rules, and equipment will drastically decrease these sports related injuries. Maybe this year there will be only a few injuries that have resulted from athletics. If the case above is true, then the conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, the author assumes that the reported psycological pressures exerted by the parents and coaches to win games have a negative outcome. Perhaps these psycological pressures result in a strong competitive spirit and diligent work habits for the children. For example, professional athletes have multiple coaches throughout life that have a main purpose of motivating and pushing the athletes to excel and win. If this is true, then the assertion made by the author is dramatically hampered.

In conclusion, the argument presented by the author is potentially a good idea. However, as it stands now, the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. Unless the author is able to provide more sound evidence(in the form of a meta analysis), then the viewers should consider the argument unpersuasive.