Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The great World that we live in presently was built by hard work and competition.

The prompt recommends that academic learning has an unfavorable inverse reltionship with competition for high grades. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that students thrive in the academic setting with a competitive platform for two reasons.

To begin, physicians are lifelong students and require a competitive nature to propel them through school. For instance, the students who remain in school the longest (doctors), are among some of the most competitive people. The criteria required to gain acceptance into medicla school consists of a high grade point average and MCAT scores. In order to obtain the high scores a high level of competition must be ingrained into the personalities. The above example illustrates that people excel in academics when incentivised with competition.

Further, when competition is engrained into children at a young age, the children develop a sense of hard work and reward. For example, kids that earn college scholarships have a strong backgroung of diligent work and competion. This example demonstrates that when children acquire these habits, good things happen and they normally are rewarded in some fashion.

Of course, some may argue that too much competition has negative consequences in the academic realm. However, this point is flawed based on the previously states notions. Learning at all levels is most efficient when implemented with a competitive spirit.