“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memorandum, the author concludes that changes need to be made to the movie stores in order to increase profits and avoid damaging the reputation of, "offering great movies at low prices." The evidence is that closing earlier, not raising rental prices, and eliminating old movies will provide a solution to the dilemma. However, their are multiple questions that should be addressed before the audience could accept or reject the argument.

First of all, does keeping the store open until 9PM instead of 6PM contribute to significantly reducing operating expenses? Perhaps the hours from 6-9 are the busiest and most profitable hours of the day. If this statement were true, then the argument is considered unpersuaive.

Furthermore, will increaing the movie rental prices demonstrate a viable way to improve profits? The author assumes that the customers shop at the store for alternative reasons and not solely because of the special bargains. By raising the prices minimally, it is possible that the return could provide very profitable. If this scenario has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the orginal argument would be weakened.

Finally, could eliminating old movies actually decrease business and profits? It is possible that the older movies are the most profitable category. And the customers may rent more of these movies than compared to others. If this statement is true, then the argument can be deemed unconvincing.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer additional evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendations.