The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 per cent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream — a dairy product made from milk — at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

As mentioned in the industry analysts report, the number of dairy forms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent. It indicates that there has been increase in the competitiveness between farm diary producers. This rise in the contest among the producers would have naturally led to the implementation of highly efficient methods which will reduce the production cost. These transformations are well documented as given.

Thus the use of new machinery became prevalent which will reduce the milking time. Since the amount of labour for producing a particular quantity of milk is considerably reduced, the labour cost is also likely to decrease. All these may pose a scenario that the overall production cost of diary products has to go down which in turn should descend the consumer price of diary products.

On discussing this issue, one must keep in mind that labour cost and production period is not the only factor that makes up the production cost. As explained earlier, in the industry, which is gaining its competitiveness, the need for investing in machineries that generate high efficiency is becoming quotidian. The capital on the machineries will be vented out in no other than the consumer price.

The advancement of the diary industry, mandates us to take into account an other significant feature which is storage and preservation. With the onset of shift from a mere household manufacturing to a more organisational sector, the act of preservation and storage comes into play which will give rise to ware house costs. The retail price of any goods is effected by the distribution system whether it reaches the consumers directly or through dealers. If through dealers, how may has it passed before going to the hands of the users are all the major contributors for product rate.

Above all, the last but not the least factor is national economic scenario. This includes the inflation rate of the denominations, the government policies such as taxing system and the fuel price. These directly or indirectly bestows a greater impact on the consumer costs. As a result, this industry approaching its apex has a higher chance of getting the price of its products to go up rather than coming down. Neglecting all these parameters and arriving at a conclusion that farmers on their avariciousness are selling their product in a higher price than actually necessary to make them is an erroneous one. Moreover, it is very much realisable that the producers always opt for the lowest selling price possible to please their customers and at the same time leaving their profit intact