The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream — a dairy product made from milk — at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the letter, the editor of a Relannian newspaper avers that the recent increase of the price of a carton of cream is the concomitance of farmers’ inflating the price of cream to increase the profits. He substantiates his argument by providing that the number of dairy farms are increased by 25 percent and the recent innovations allowed farmers to increase the efficiency of the milking process. Although the argument seems convincing at first, the existence of alternative explanations lead readers to conclude that the argument is not persuasive on many grounds.

To begin with, the editor should consider that 25 percent increase of dairy farms could be not significnat. This alternative possible scenario should be considered in that the author’s conclusion relies on the assumption of the increased product supply, albeit not directly evinced in the letter. However, it is possible that the increased of the number of the dairy farms are marginal, because the initial number of the dairy farms was not substantial. In this case, the increase of the supply should also be marginal, weakening the author’s conclusion on farmer’s intentional inflating of the price. Therefore, the author should take these possible scenarios into consideration and provide more solid arguments on how to obviate them.

Moreover, alternative explanations on the recent increase of the product price should be also considered. The editor provides only the short-term tendency of the cream price; he only mentions that fact that it increased twice as much as it did two years ago. However, it is likely that the price was actually higher ten years ago, and the current surge of the price is just an aberration due to the adverse economy. The author should also cite these possible explanations.

Finally, the author should take alternative explanations for the recent inflation of the product into consideration. To elaborate, one of the authors main assumptions is based on the survey result on the labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms. However, it should be noted that the cost, which is required for running the machines that enabled farmers to increase their milking efficiency, might have not been included when the survey was conducted. In addition, it is also plausible that the minority of Relannian dairy farms whose cost was increased actually supplies the majority of cream products to the Relannian market. Therefore, the author should validate that the survey result is reliable and show that the amount of cream products supplied by those with the increased production cost is marginal.

In brief, the authors argument on the collusion of farmers on inflating the price of cream is not convincing on many grounds. Therefore, to bolster his argument, the editor should provide more information about the increase of the product supply, the long-term tendency of the product price, and the reliability of the survey result.