The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

College professors across most parts of the world if not all often do not get many benefits for their children's education. Providing tuition free education for children of the faculty would be a great way to lure professors children to stay in the university areas itself. However attributing this factor to greater retention of professors and developing a policy as such to retain more professors in Seatown University cannot completely be justified.

First and foremost two universities cannot and should not be directly compared and hence something which may have worked at one place may or may not directly work in the other university. Universities are generally compared on different criteria ranking, their location, overall funds they have, etc. The greater retention of professors at Oceania University could actually be related to many of these other factors than just tuition free education for the professors children.

Secondly tuition expenses are not the only expenses borne by parents in raising kids, and thus solving the tuition fees problem cannot be the only solution for retaining professors, it could just be one of the many defining factors in retaining professors.

The argument also states that providing free tuition could boost the morale of the professors. While this is true to some extent, this factor would again most likely be one of the many factors deciding the morale of the professors. Perhaps the ranking of the university, the kind of students taking admission in the university, the kind of facilities provided by the university to its professors to perform research and other activities would be more impactful towards boosting the morale of the professors than just free tuition.

The same above argument could be made about luring new professors. People thinking of becoming professors in Seatown University would consider the rank, students, facilities factors more strongly than their possibly worrying about their yet to be born college kids tuition fees.

In general, if the ranking of the Swatown University is not quite good such a policy might be looked down upon by professors as they might aspire to send their kids to better schools than in Seatown University. In such a scenario providing education related benefits for their children would be a better approach to take from the administration of Seatown University's point of view than providing free tuition at Seatown University. In addition all kids may not aspire to go to college and might have other dreams like becoming athletes or actors. In such a scenario again providing free tuition would not help the professors kids.

Thus in general the argument seems to be a bit vague as it considers providing tuition free education to be a very important factor in retaining their professors or luring new ones, that too from a study conducted in a nearby university. The argument does not exactly consider other important reasons as mentioned above in getting to it's conclusion. Thus it calls for a more sophisticated and detailed study on factors which decide how professors can be retained and to then take action accordingly.