As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technological advancement has always been a debatable subject with both pros and cons. With greater technological advancement taking place everyday, and directly impacting people's lives, people's reliance on technology for their everyday lives has naturally shot up. People today have started to depend on technology even for simple tasks. For example, applications like Siri, Google Now has provided people with simpler options and automatic features to do stuff they would have to otherwise manually have to do. While this is definitely a great benefit for people in general, people might just start to forget the way these things are normally done at some point in the future. People may start to depend on technology even for simple tasks which they could do today by themselves and this shift from reliance to dependence could be quite harmful on people's lives.

However if we could take a more balanced approach and use newer and newer technology only at the right place, we may not remain dependent on technology to solve problems. Newer technology is always invented to help people in their daily lives. More technology is synonymous to more progress. Technology get adopted by people when it saves their time or energy or brings in some extra convenience than what they had earlier. With newer technology people can save up their time to do more productive things than what they earlier had to do. This means that humans could still be the same and have similar thoughts despite technological advancement.

Advancement in technologies can in fact improve scope for further technological advancement and thus make humans more productive. Thus humans ability to think might improve with technological advancement. Better technology might as well be conducive to humans ability to think than the gadgets we have today. With any improvement in technology all human values and the ability to humans to perform the tasks they do now could remain the same. Thus any improvement in technology shall only help the human race further and not create an obstacle at any stage.

Throughout history technological advancement has always played the key role in the development of any society or nation. Any society which is more technologically advanced than the other has a key advantage over the other. Thus improvement in technology shall only help in boosting further thoughts and the overall ability to think in humans.