Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Most young people are always encouraged to follow their dreams, take risks and try out their ideas. While this approach is good for their progress and they are motivated by themselves to work hard and achieve their dreams, the decisions which young people take may or may not always be the best.

The author states that young people should keep more emphasis on worthy goals than their dreams as their dreams might be selfish. While this might be true to some extent for some people or professions, the vast majority of the people usually don't necessarily have selfish dreams. Most people would believe in the success of the world as a whole and not just themselves and hence their dreams cannot necessarily be regarded as selfish. Still there could be a few reasons why it would be better for young people to chase worthy goals than the dreams they have.

Young people inherently lack experience of the real world and this could be a great hindrance for them to achieve the dreams they saw for themselves when they were young. Aged and more experienced people can in some cases help them out to set them in the right direction towards their dreams.

The dreams of young people may or may not be really worthy chasing them. For example, young kids may just start to love a particular profession on first sight and set their dreams on achieving that. However, it may turn out that most people choose that profession or job out of compulsion than liking and hence it is not actually worthy to chase such a dream.

The dreams of young kids in todays technology world may or may not be realistic to chase considering the the background and the way they are brought up. Young people might get influenced by any small thing they get to see on television or read about it on the Internet and would set their dreams to achieve the same. This would definitely be a wrong approach for their overall progress and it would definitely be more worthy to pick more thoughtful worthy goals over such unrealistic dreams.

Thus in general young people are told to follow their dreams which is great for their progress in life. However setting more worthy smaller goals leading towards that dreams could be more beneficial since the emphasis comes on the journey towards their dreams than just keeping result goals and be set on achieving them regardless of the situation and the price for it.