The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client it is recommended to invest in the Consolidated Industries. The reason stated for the recommendation is that in near future there will be high demand of heating oil because of various factors stated in the letter. At surface the reason seems plausible at first glance but under close inspection it is full of assumptions. Strong pieces of evidence are required to justify those assumptions.

To begin with, it has been assumed that there will be no alternative fuel for heating. It is possible that due to high demand for heating, new more refined alternative could be in development process and could replace the heating oil as major source of fuel. It may also be the case that there are more sources for heating are available like heater powered from electricity or heater powered from steam and coal which could hamper the demand of the oil in the near future.If the above cases are true then the argument presented in the letter is significantly hampered.

Secondly, even if we assume that the demand of heating oil will be the same or even more due to the reasons stated. The assumption has been made that Consolidated Industries has only the sole provider of oil in the region. It is possible that there are many industries in the region who are looking at this opportunity to expand their oil business. It may also be the case that another company provide better and refined oil as compared to the Consolidated Industries. So, I would recommend the author of the letter to provide some kind of proof in a systematic manner that Consolidated Industries has a better market share in terms of oil.

Thirdly, the assumption has been made that the weather forecast will be accurate. It is possible that the weather predictors have made a serious mistake in modeling the weather pattern. It may also be the case that as weather pattern are affected markedly even by a small factor the predicted pattern will not hold water. So, if the above cases have merit then the argument presented in the original letter is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed because of its reliance on several unstated assumptions. The author may have come to this conclusion based on his relevant understanding of the subject matter but strong pieces of evidences are required to justify the assumptions made in the argument. So, if the author of the passage is able to provide more evidence and justify above-mentioned assumptions in a systematic manner then it will be possible to fully evaluate recommendation of investing in Consolidated Industries.