The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client. “Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.”

In the letter from a firm advices a client to invest in industries which sell home heating oil as their major buisisness. The firm comes to this conclusion of investment due to usage of oil as major fuel for heating homes in northern united states. Before consedering this idea client must think about the possible assumptions made by the firm which are presented below.

Firstly, the firm assumes that only because the are in the north of the United States experienced temperatures below average in last year, there might be the same atmosphere as last year. Not only it is capricious to assume the weather also it is bit senseless to expect the nature to be same as the past. It is true to follow local weather forecasters' prediction but also it is very high risk for a client to invest money into merely predections. However, if the firm would have presented the accuracy rates of prediction sof forecasters it might have became an idea which can be given thought to.

Furthermore, the firm states that there has been increase in the number of new homes in the area. So, the usage of oil for heatin their homes would increase. Yet, it is possible that may be these new houses have been only built ibn the area and not being used this year to live or the people living their might use electric devices or woods through thr chimney to heat their houses. Also, as they mentioned before that the weather might stay same in upcoming years. If that is come to be true, there would be number of people who may migrate to another area. Hence, it would be quite helpful to look into the number of people who would be staying into the area.

Lastly, it might be true that people would be using the oil to heat their houses, yet the firm could present the number of people using it. The number may provide the proof of benefit in the business of investing money in selling oil. It is possible that so many people there might be using other ways of heating their house.

Hence, as the assumptions presented above shows that the argument is flawed. The firm may provide more evidence based on research to pursue the client to invest money there.