The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the letter from the investment firm, the client was advised to invest in Consolidated industries, one of whose major business operations was in the retail sale of home heating oil. They had arrived at this conclusion based on the fact that increase in number of cold days was likely to translate into an increase in the demand for heating oil in the northeastern United states. However before this recommendation is accepted, the following three questions must be answered.

First of all, the home owners who have been traditionally using oil as their major fuel for heating might change over to renewable sources of energy. With the increasing awareness about climate change, many citizens are looking for opportunities to transfer from traditional fuel sources like oil and gas to renewable sources like solar energy and geothermal energy for heating their homes. Thus, it is imperative that client takes into consideration this phenomenon before making any investment decision.

Secondly, as the oil business is a saturated market already, there is a lot of competition which will result in dragging down the prices. This effect will have a direct impact on the profits for Consolidation industries. So, the question that the client should be asking is ‘what is it that Consolidation industries is going to do differently to stand out in the competitive market scenario?’. Moreover with the sporadic nature of the oil market, the brent crude prices keep on fluctuating throughout the year, and shoot up very often due to global dynamics.

Furthermore, it is assumed that all the new home owners who have recently build their houses will use the oil from Consolidated industries only. It is possible that they are already loyal to some other brand that they have been using since before moving to the new houses. Also, it is assumed the all the current residents will start or continue using heating oil from Consolidated industries in the coming years (where it is predicted that cold conditions will continue.)

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the firm is able to answer the three aforementioned questions or is able to provide evidence supporting their recommendation (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to full evaluate the viability of the proposed investment advice.