The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the firm wishes that its client invest in Consolidated industries. The reasons why the firm arrives at this conclusion is because there is a projected increase in demand for heating oil in the northeastern United States and weather is predicted to be low for years to come, moreover there is subsequent increase in new-home construction in the area. While the firms contention might be valid, the argument is rested on three unwarranted assumptions that drastically hinder the credibility of the statement.

Initially, the author assumes that the local weather forecasts are accurate and is bound to happen. In constrast to the statement, there is a possibility that the forecasts are not accurate or the local weather forcasters are new to the job. For example, the weather is cold in the northeastern part of the United States since there is a cold storm in the ocean nearby. The prediction of the likely headed direction of the storm is very ambiguous. Let us also consider that the so called forecasters are new to the job and innacurate in predicting the weather. If any of the mentioned situations prove to be true then it severely impedes the baseline of the firms intention.

Secondly, the author assumes that because there are construction of new homes in the region, more people are likely to move in. However, this might not be the case. If there were a price drop of properties in the region where 'Consolidated Indsutries' extant, citizens would be likely to invest in low-priced real estate, but this doesnt signify that those owners are going to move in. In addition to that, building of new homes might be because of low price of construction materials, many real-estate/building companies would typically reduce the amount of money spent on construction materials. They might have constructed those buildings solely because the constrcution cost of that time when the report what taken was significantly low. If either of these cases prove to be true then it hinders the validity of the firms contention.

Lastly, the author assumes that 'Consolidated Indsutries' since it has major business in reatail of heating oil it has direct co-relation with the stock price of the company and the reliability of the company depends only on this income. In contrast to that, it might be the case that the company has multiple sources of income and a debacle in other sources of income doesnt affect the stock listed price of the company. For example, if the company also has business in retail of house-hold products, many people would not come out in the cold weather to buy household products, thereby reducing the profit of the company and affecting the companies source of income.

If the author wishes to bolster the validity of the argument, the firm should provide these three pieces of evidence in order to move further and consider the investment opportunity.