The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client. “Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.”

#47 (0723 오전)

The author claims that investment in consolidated industries is needed because of the increased demand for heating oil. it can be partly true on certain circumstance, but it might not necessarily true under the following reasons.

First, the author assumes that the demand for heating oil will increase because last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecaster predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. However, the author’s assumption might not be true. Although the demand for heating oil is increased, there can be the possibility for alternative fuel. Therefore, the demand for heating oil might not increase under above circumstance.

Second, the author assumes that there will be the demand for new home because many new homes are being built in response to recent population growth. but it might not be true. there’s a possibility for new home to be empty. If there’s no residents, the predicted demand will be reduced. So, building the new homes doesn’t mean the increase of the heating oil.

In conclusion, the author’s asserts that investment in consolidated industries is needed because of the increased demand for heating oil might not be plausible under above reason. To strengthen the author’s claim, More evidence is needed.