The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author assumes that due to the decreasing temperature within 20 days, the demand for heating oil will increase; And then, the author calls for people to invest in Consolidated Industries. However, since the author lacks many pieces of evidence to support the series of predictions, the series of predictions are unwarranted.

To begin with, the author relies on prediction by the weather forecasters to suggests that the temperature will decrease for more than 20 years. However, lacking evidence to support the prediction, the previous reports do not mention the exact temperature decreased within 20 days, average temperature, and other possible factors that will increase temperature. Specifically, the temperature might only decrease 1 degree Celsius from the average temperature of 23 degrees Celsius. And the temperature decreasing 1 degree Celsius might be balanced by global warming in the future. As a result, the prediction of the pattern that temperature will decrease more than 20 years is unwarranted.

Further, the editor’s prediction depends on the assumption that no factors other than many new homes will cause the demand for heating oil. However, this prediction does not include cogent evidence that can preclude some possible factors undermining the prediction; A myriad of other factors, including the empty homes or the alternative energy, might be the cause of the result that the demand is not increasing in the future. To be specific, the home price is so expensive that few people are affordable, and then the empty homes make the demand for heating oil not increasing. And the alternative energy development will serve to undermine the demand for heating oil. Without ruling out these and other possible causes, the editor cannot justifiably conclude that only by many news homes can increase the demand for heating oil.

Finally, even though the demand for heating oil will increase in the future, the editor’s recommendation relies on the assumption that no factors other than increasing demand for heating oil will cause the profit of Consolidated Industries. However, the evidence that can support the recommendation is lacking; A lot of other possible factors, such as competitors, might be the cause of the result that Consolidated Industries cannot profit as possible as the argument predicts. To be specific, because many companies are excellent in such demand for heating oil, Consolidated Industries cannot earn money. Thus, the recommendation calling for people to invest in Consolidated Industries is unreasonable.

To sum up, the author lacks many pieces of evidence that can support the series of predictions; If the pieces of evidence prove that no other factors will cause increasing temperature, no other factors will result in not increasing in demand for heating oil, and no other factors will make Consolidated Industries’ profit not increasing, the predictions will be more reasonable.