The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter to his/her friend, the homeowner has stated Adams Realty as being clearly superior as compared to Fitch Reality. However his conclusion is supported by various unstated assumptions which needs to be critiqued before it can be taken at its face value.

Firstly, the homeowner assumes Adam Realty's superior by stating that Adams has 40 real estate agents whereas Fitch has only 25 and many of them work only part-time. The fact that the agents of Adams Realty could be having shorter office hours than Fitch hasn't been taken into consideration. There is also the fact that quantity doesn't necessitates quality and thereby Fitch worker's could easily be more efficient than Adams even if they work for shorter hours. If either of this possibility happens to be true, then the assumption doesn't hold any water and cannot be used to attest to Adams Realty's superiority

Secondly, even after stating that Adams Realty employs more people than Fitch Realty, the homeowner has compared the revenues of both the companies and has concluded Adams as being superior just because their revenue is higher by $24,000. There is a high possibility that Adams's expenditure could be higher than Fitch's and thereby, Fitch could be doing better in terms of profit. Without this being ascertained, the assumption of Adams's being superior because of its higher revenue doesn't hold any merit.

Lastly, the homeowner has compared the time it has taken for two different properties to sell in a period of ten years. There could be two reason that this isn't because of Fitch's Realty being inferior - one being that there is a high possibility that the house would have taken the same amount of time even if it had been listed in Adams's Realty 10 years ago and another being that there is also the possibility that second home, that sold out more quickly than the first one mentioned, could have been in a better condition or it could have been in a better location or even both. To conclude the superiority of Adams Realty without taking these variables into account is erroneous.

To conclude, the author's conclusion of Adams Realty being superior than Fitch Realty depends on the three above mentioned assumptions - the difference in working hours, the revenue and the supposed efficiency of the firms. When there is the possibility that any one of these three or even all three assumptions are mistaken, the conclusion of Adams Realty being superior is heavily weakened.