The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter from a homeowner to a friend suggests that if he wants to sell his home quickly then Adam Realty is the best compared to Fitch reality. The homeowner makes this conclusion based on facts like, Adam Realty has more number of employees comparatively and that last year Adam Realty's revenue was twice has high as that of Fitch's. Also, 10 years back when the home owner had listed a house with Fitch, took four months to sell. Whereas last year with Adam, it took only a month to sell. The state if the conclusion made by the homeowner is cogent the following 3 assumptions need to be examined first.

Firstly, the homeowner states that Adam Realty has more employees than Fitch, cannot be used as a argument point. The homeowner here assumes that more number of employees means more superior than the other. There could be a possibility that the less number of employees of Fitch are all very skilled whereas in Adam's the employees are diverse i.e some proficient while some mediocre in their work. To illustrate this, consider a startup with less but very skilled employees versus a company with more number or employees but not that concentration of skilled workers. Here, the startup, though with less employees, still excels due to it's proficient employees.

Secondly, The writers states that last year Adam had twice the revenue Fitch has. The writer assumes that just like last year this year too Adam's realty will have more revenue compared to Fitch. It can so happen that last year was very favourable for Adam that he exceled but to thing this year to this will repeat is wrong. For instance, consider a company A doing better than a company B. Due to internal factors couldn't do well the next year. Internal factors could be things like not good working environment thus employee quiting, employees not satisfied with their raise or just too much toxic competition within etc. Therefore, Just by last year revenue conclusion cannot be drawn.

Lastly, the owner narrates his own experience with the 2 real estate firms. Owner assumes that just like ten years ago which took the Fitch Realty to sell his house in four months might now as well take similar longer time. There is a possibility that ten years a ago there were no such keen buyers like last year. Thus, enabling Adam Realty to sell it in one month due to more buying demand in the market. For example, selling a genz tshirt to two decades ago would have been an unprofitable business. But now in the genz time, there is a huge demand of these tshirts making this very profitable now.

Therefore, the conclusion if one wants to sell a house quicker should go with Adam Realty is flawed. More evidences are required to make a more pragmatic reasoning. Therefore, the above assumptions need to be addressed in depth to get a clear picture.