The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend. "Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

According to the homeowner letter, he concludes that if someone wants to sell their home quicker and at a good price, they should use Adams Realty instead of Fitch Realty. To prove his point he has mention different facts and figures. The argument is not persuasive enough and it is logically not right.

First, the homeowner mention that Adams Realty is superior compare to Fitch Realty. He says this on the base that Adams have 40 real estate agent and Fitch only has 25. In Fitch out of 25 agent, many work part time. This is not a reason to consider that Adam Realty is superior. We do not know how many part time workers work of Adams. It could also be possible that even after Adams having more number of the agents, they are not that much efficient as the agent working in Fitch Realty. Unless, we know about the number of part time agent in Adams and what is the efficiency of both the realty we cannot conclude anything.

Secondly, the homeowner in the letter claims that the revenue earned last year by Adams realty were double than the Fitch Realty and to support his claim he mention that the average price of house sold with Adams is $24,000 mores than the Fitch. This could have happen that Adam could have sold less number of houses as a result the average price per house got increase. Unless, we know about the number of house sold by each Realty we cannot conclude anything.

Thirdly, to strength the claim, the homeowner in his letter mentions the real life example which he had faced. He told that ten years ago when he wanted to sell his house, he listed his house with Fitch and it took four months before it was sold, but last year when he sold another house this time used the service of Adams Realty and the house was sold in one month. It could have happen that the condition a decade ago would be very different than the condition last year. It could have happen that the economy could be bad and the people would not be buying new houses ten years ago, but now the economic is stable and people are investing in new homes. Unless, we know about the condition ten years ago we cannot conclude that Adam Realty sells homes faster than Fitch.

Unless, we come to know about all the things like how many part time workers are working in the Adam and how much efficient if each realty we cannot conclude that the Adams Realty sells the houses quicker and at a good price. To make his point stronger the homeowner should mention all the facts which are written above.