The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The numerous assumptions that the homeowner makes should give the reader pause. While Adams Realty may be the superior of the two firms in speed and pricing in reality, this letter does not protect from certain fallacies which would falsify the homeowner's argument.

Firstly, the homeowner makes a glaring assumption that the turnover rate for a house on the market ten years ago is the same as today. The owner should have sold a house with each Adams and Fitch ten years ago and today to get a valid comparison of timeliness in selling his/her houses. A similar assumption made is that comparing revenues of the firms for one year is a decent enough representation of superiority; Fitch could have just had a bad year. This assumption goes hand-in-hand with that above to weaken the argument that Adams is superior. It would be no surprise that Adams sold a house quickly during its good year.

Second, the author makes a few unstated assumptions that the higher a firm's number of full-time employees and revenue, the better. This assumption overlooks many possible drawbacks of these supposedly meritorious variables: the higher revenue could be illegal and one would not want to use Adams this year because they will soon shutdown due to venality. Full-time employees are generally overworked and underpaid (with less revenue to go around for their salaries), and thus deliver a worse customer service experience and a worse performance in selling houses. Also, Adams and Fitch may simply deal in selling different types and price-points of homes. If the reader is trying to sell a home in the lower margins of town, they may have a better chance selling quickly by using Fitch.

The holes from the assumptions in this argument should be filled in before the reader trusts that Adams is the superior firm for their house by the measures of speed and price. Market speed was measured too long ago to be a reliable comparison for today's standards, and Adams pricing may not be adequate for the needs of the reader's unique home. Therefore, the homeowner's advice may very well miss the mark for his/her friend's situation.