The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response is which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager's conclusion seems logical overall, although he or she makes a few assumptions which weaken his or her argument.

The two most important pieces of evidence to gather are call records of the viewers calling the station and what content is advertised during the late-night news program. First, the statement only claims that viewers are concerned about the coverage of weather and local news, but does not describe what their concerns are. If the viewers called wth concerns that the weather and local news was not being reported accurately and made no mention of the decreased coverage time, this would weaken the manager's argument. For example, viewers may detest the reporter of these segments and might thus, call the station. Next, the argument assumes that advertisers have canceled their contracts because of the decrease in coverage time for the weather and local news. Evidence for the news content of the late-night program is needed to support this argument; if weather and local news are covered during the late-night news, then the argument to increase coverage time of these two news types would be significantly weakened.

Additionally, there is no evidence that the viewers and advertisers specifically dislike the decreased time in weather and local news coverage. One variable that is unnacounted for is the station's political stance. If the viewers and advertisers disagree with the political slant or the station's choice of topical coverage of the national news, then this may cause them to request more coverage time of weather and local news and cancel their contracts, thus weakening the argument.

One example of some evidence the manager could gather to strengthen his or her argument include the records comparing how much time has been devoted to each type of news coverage in the previous year and how significantly the amount has changed. For example, if the times have only changed by five minutes, the argument would not be supported. However, a difference of a few hours, especially during the prime viewing hours, would support the argument.

Finally, if the evidence above was provided, then the manager would significantly strengthen his or her argument that the station needs to restore coverage time of weather and local news.