To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I disagree with this claim because any given society has many important characteristics which both literally and figuratively reside outside of cities. Studying only cities would overlook defining characteristics found along the societal gradient everywhere from suburban to rural lifestyles.

While the statement does apply better to society's like America's where cities have been developing for a long time, it is still not adequate for an understanding of American society. For example, America currently has a rather polarized political map; generally, red Republican-electing states are in the middle and blue Democratic-electing states are on the coasts. Additionally, the typical major cities that America is known for are on the coasts, with only a few like Chicago and Denver matching the size and cultural stature of LA, DC, and New York City. If only these major cities were studied during the 2016 election period, one would lose out on an amalgam of "important characteristics" from American society. It can generally be said that coal-miners, border patrol agents, and steel-workers are not well-represented in these major cities and therefore neither would their views be in this hypothetical study. One might conclude even more cogently from such a study of the major cities than was in reality, that Clinton would win the 2016 election.

As for societies very unlike America, of which there are many in the world, this method of studying the major cities of a society would work even less effectively. Ugandan society is farm-based and only relatively recently became urban, with clusters of cities springing into existence astonishingly quickly. These cities have developed new jobs and markets in the society, but studying only them would be the best way to prevaricate Uganda's current societal base: farming. Some of the most important characteristics of the society are its collectivist culture, agrarian basis, and family structures. These are currently morphing with the new Westernized city cultures and lifestyles. One would never glimpse the families working farms, warring over cattle, and defending from militants on the country's borders if one only studied the two major cities.

These exceptions about the statement's validity apply both to society's more similar and dissimilar to America's. While the method of study may prove more useful when applied to American society than Ugandan because of the greater time that American cities have spent mixing culture, values, and history together, it is still not fully true. When studying any society, a great deal will be missed if one overlooks the rural and suburban roles.