The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the letter from homeowner to the friend, the adam reality quickly sold the home in better price than fitch reality. adam reality was superior to the fitch reality in terms of real estate agents, revenue of last year and the experience of the homeowner: Celerity of the work of adam reality in recent year for selling the home faster than the work of the fitch reality ten years ago. however, performance of the estate firm cannot be predicted only on these assumption without verification.

To begin, the slight better revenue of adam’s firm than finch’s firm does not clearly signifies the better performance of that group than other group. perhaps there will be highest number of the clients of the firm than finch to generate revenue more. The revenue might not matter the performance of the group that extent. While, the performance of the group depends on the efficiency of the group member. The performance of the group may be low even after the revenue is more. perhaps the flow of client will be more on the adam’s firm and the firm might not able to handle the crowd of the client on the given resource. In contrast, there will be limited client number of finch’s firm, and even with limited resource, the firm may efficiently manage the case resulting low revenue but higher performance. if the situation follows the possible assumption, it clearly put the argument in the fabrication.

Additionally, the experience of the house owner regarding fitch’s firm was ten years ago which might not be today’s case. may be ten years earlier, the firm could be on its struggling phase and performance at that time could not that good enough to satisfy the client. however, the firm may have well established now and there may be no complaint regarding the work delay which he had experienced ten years ago. Again there may be possibility that the owner could be oblivion to the fact that the firm is doing very good performance in contemporary situation. thus, it could lead the flaw on the argument that the adam’s firm was better than fitch’s firm in todays’s world.

Lastly, the house owner could have his personal issue with the finch firm. The bitter past experience of the finch firm may have imprinted the negative impression on the house owner and would not accepted the positive change in the firm. if it is the case, it will surely undermine the argument.

In conclusion, the house owner’s argument regarding the comparison between two firm was based on the unwarranted circumstances. if he have provided the more plausible evidences effectively, it would be assumed true. however, the assumption only based on the speculation, thus cannot be considered as valid argument.