The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex

to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers

complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be.

Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available,

the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the

corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water

pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that

modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside

Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

The author suggests that modifying showerheads to eliminate water flow for all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex so as to increase profit considerably. however, the argument is wife with holes and plagued by a number of skewed assumptions.

First, the author implies that water flow to one-third of original causes the less water usage. The assumption here is that total water usage is reduced by restricting the maximum water flow to one-third of earlier level. The argument may be right if all residents use the water with the same time period before and after changing the showerheads, then the water usage is conceivably reduced to one-third of the original level due to the degradation ratio of the greatest water flow with unchanged use period. however, it could be a different story if residents use double amount of water because the water flow is too little and it takes more time for them to clean up bodies. The writer needs to cope with the above assumption to strengthen the argument.

Even if the residence do use one-third of the water volume after changing showerheads, the connection to saving water is still problematic. some of credentials of water usage composition has to be presented. if water usage comes from showerheads dominantly, then it does make sense that increasing savings due to new showerheads. still, because clothing washing machine use the same volume of water no matter the water flow is, and the washing machine is the most dominate water usage source in the building, then dwellers use water with three time period as much as before to get the same water volume to make the clothes clear as usual. Therefore, modifying the showerheads have nothing to do with saving money and the author needs to address the assumption mentioned above to make the argument more convincing.

Additionally, another assumption here is that the author attributes the remarkable savings for Sunnyside Corporation to less water fee because of dramatically water flow reduction by modifying the showerheads. it may be true if the water fee is 99% of the bill, then we could almost recognize the savings coming from less water usage. Yet some credentials of the connection between savings to water saving is unclear as well as the percentage and how much water fee in the bill as well. For instance, if the water fee only occupies 1% of the monthly fee, then it is barely for the argument to convince that modifying showerheads could benefit any.

The author needs to address the assumptions mentioned above to make the argument more cogent.