Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society’s highest ideals.

I believe that we should understand the character of a society by examining the heroes of society, but also its industry.

Heroes are absolute as indicators that reflect a particular value that society pursues. For example, American Captain is the hero of American society, there are key traits including strong physically and mentally, saving poor people from suffering and help timely who really need help. It could tell the value that American society would like to lionize like as pioneers from United Kingdom to this nation, exploring and establishing a well-flourished and potent nation. Moreover, another example is that the hero of North Korea is the father of Kim Jong Un, there are a lot of his statues standing in public space. Undoubtedly, the character is a dictator and reflects that a centralized-power nation that controls and manipulate the mind of people.

However, sometimes, the real heroes are not canonized or noticeable by society are still worth to respect and they’re also the core value of a society. For instance, Taiwan has a benefactor called Chen Shu-chu, and she has been elected to be one of the most influential people in the world by TIME magazine. Chen has been devoted her whole to society without asking returning. She has donated almost her poverty to help poor people and students in the rural area of Taiwan, but she still keeps humble. By studying her history couldn’t understand Taiwan society because her morality is too high for Taiwanese to follow. In other words, there are very few people could achieve as Chen did.

Indeed, there are still a lot of things that we can’t see from the hero's models. For example, In Taiwan, the hero is Sun Yet-San who is the father of Taiwan had overturned the previous thorn and create a new nation that has flourished well so far. Yet, we never know the technology achievement from Taiwan by studying role models. Today, Taiwan is famous for its technological advancement in semi-conductor, like TSMC(Taiwan Semiconductor manufacturing corporation) is the world-leading company in the world, it has made a lot of contributions to the technology that no one in the field doesn’t know.

In conclusion, the best way to understand the trait of a society is by learning its lionized heroes and its industry.