The following appeared in a letter sent by a committee of homeowners from the Deerhaven Acres to all homeowners in Deerhaven Acres.

“Seven years ago, homeowners in nearby Brookville community adopted a set of restrictions on how the community’s yards should be landscaped and what colors the exteriors of homes should be painted. Since then, average property values have tripled in Brookville. In order to raise property values in Deerhaven Acres, we should adopt our own set of restrictions on landscaping and house painting.”

The prompt highlights the surge in the average property values in Brookville by three times within seven years by adopting various restrictions on landscaping of lawns and house painting. The argument suggests similar rise in Deerhaven Acres with the use of some set of constraints on the same. However, this argument is unconvincing because of the several reasons as it assumes only one reason for the success but there may be some other reasons as the adoption of rules regarding landscaping community yards and painting the exterior of homes can only add scenic beauty as seen by the outsider and may have less contribution towards the increase of average property values.

First of all, the given premises is based on the following assumption that the restrictions were obeyed in Brookville seven years ago and Deerhaven Acres decide to follow the same in present which is not correct because of the change in ample of situations in spam of seven years, for instance, effect on economy, change in interests of masses as it may happen that people may not be interested in buying properties.

Secondly, the argument assumes that the one and the only reason for the inclination in the value of properties in Brookville is the change in scenic beauty. Though it could be the reason, but there may be other reasons like the location of Brookville as it may be near to the shopping centers, airport, railway station and bus stand which may be attract the majority of population to buy properties in this region. Furthermore, there may be many infrastructural developments along with this in this area like development of hospitals, schools, improvement in security conditions and likewise many others. The argument can be strengthened by stating the given reason as one of the reason for the growth of the property values and suggesting some other possible reasons.

Finally, the argument fails to describe the various restrictions which the Brookville had followed and the conditions which the Deerhaven Acres is going to suggest for the attracting various individuals towards properties. There may be possibility that the conditions followed by the latter may not be appropriate for the achievement as that followed by the former. The argument can be made relevant by clearly describing the various restrictions imposed.

Thus, the argument is not logically convincing. The evidence in support of the conclusion has failed to provide information on the above mentioned argument.