Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses. Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt highlights the importance of Paleo diets which was consumed by early hominids, to cure many chronic illnesses which is accompanied by inducing cartilage and chondroitin nutrients inside the body. The argument states the fact that both these health beneficial nutrients are essential to heal the joints and to promote nerve regeneration but both of these if supplied directly to the body are not helpful to the body. However, Paleo diets containing both these nutrients especially a soup known as bone broth which is made from animal bones, when supplied to the body help in the prevention from diseases and it was found that people consuming this soup have less number of metabolic and inflammatory diseases. The succeeding paragraphs evaluate each of these assumptions and evidence one by one and bring out various measures to strengthen the argument.

First of all, the exact statistics of people consuming bone broth soup is not given as it was emphasized that the people who intake this soup have fewer diseases than the other. But the number of people among whole population who eat this soup is not given. So, the exact comparison with people who does not intake of this soup is not appropriate. So, this argument is flawed and can be strengthened by giving proper data and the number of people tested for the goodness of this soup.

Secondly, it was stated that the soup was consumed by the ancestors and were not prone to such harmful diseases and by emulating this habit present human being also become save from the chronic diseases. This argument is very week because with the variation in time there are many changes in environment and human body. Furthermore, the human beings who can digest such types of food during those days may not be comfortable now as there may be evolution in their metabolism. Thus, the argument can be approved by comprehensive analysis of the myriad conditions in both times.

Lastly, the argument states that cartilage we intake directly do not help us in preventing from such diseases. To add more, the cartilage present in the soup is helpful. But no such evidence is provided regarding this. Additionally, there is no such data which can affirm the cartilage content of bone broth soup. Hence, the argument can be made more appropriate by giving proper experimental evidences.

Thus, the argument is not logically convincing. The evidence in support of the conclusion has failed to provide information on the above mentioned argument.