The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals, the author recommends that Bargain Brand expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as soon as possible. Although his/her argument seems compelling at first, several unanswered questions make readers cast doubt on the validity of the argument.

First of all, is it true that very low prices of Bargain Brand Cereals attracted customers away from the top-selling cereal companies? It is likely that other factors drew customers’ attention. They might choose Bargain Brand Cereals because of its good taste or its uniqueness. Also, it is possible that they just wanted to try cereals by new brand. In these cases, customers might not be attracted by low-priced food products and purchase those from Bargain Brand Cereals.

Secondly, will Bargain Brand Cereals make profit if they produce various kinds of food products? It is likely that they have been making profits because they concentrated only on cereals. If they start producing other kinds of food products and the production cost increases, they might not be able to make profits much as before. In addition, in all likelihood, the production cost of other food products might not be low as cereals. Moreover, the author needs to take the marketing price into account. Therefore, the author needs to explain in detail about the production cost.

Lastly, the author needs to answer to the question whether the high profit for a year was anomaly. It is likely that the preference of cereals was a mode, and might not last for following years. Furthermore, customers might preferred low price cereals because of recent bad economic condition. If the economic condition gets better, it is likely that customers will pay more to buy high-quality, high-price products.

In conclusion, the argument that Bargain Brand Cereals should expand its business is unconvincing on many grounds. In order to bolster his/her argument, he/she needs to answer to the questions whether low prices have attracted customers and whether the high profit last year was anomaly or not.