As presented in a memo, the author recommends Bargain Brand to expand its business to other low-priced food products given the success of their breakfast cereal. At the first glance, this recommendation seems relatively sound. However, as more light is shed on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned, the recommendation turns out to be unconvincing as it rest upon several unsolved questions.

First, in the argument the director does not provide enough evidences to explain why many customers choose Bargain Brand. Without providing any further details, the author consider the very low prices of Bargain Brand is the only reason. However, it is plausible that the prices of cereals from other top-selling companies are reasonable or even lower than Bargain Brand cereal and what attract customers are the good quality and taste of Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. In such case, low price of Bargain Brand cereal has nothing to do with its strong competitiveness among other companies. Even if it’s not like this, there may be little overlap in customers between Bargain and other companies as products of different prices may server different groups. Therefore, the author should include these factors into consideration.

Second, the author wrongly considers that Bargain Brand have to raise product prices to continue earn a profit in facing the strategies of other companies. Possibly, Bargain Brand may have lowered the cost or ameliorate the components in its breakfast cereal in order to keep making profit or drawing customers. Further, it is possible that companies producing top brands lowered their prices or introduced budget brands based on their own customers’ complaints or suggestions rather than compete with Bargain Brand. To make this recommendation more cogent, the author needs to think of these questions.

Finally, based on aforementioned points, the author proceeds to propose a far-fetched assertion that Bargain Brand should expand its business and start marketing other low-priced food products. Objections could be raised on the ground that in other low-priced food products, there may already had many companies similar to Bargain Brand which produce low-price food products. In this case, Bargain Brand is not likely to attract many customers. Moreover, low price may not be an influential factor for other food products.

In summary, although the author’s argument is not entirely invalid, existing information is not sufficient to fully support the recommendation. To strengthen it, he or she should solve the above questions and provide more supporting details.