"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening

The Board of Directors of Monarch Books recommend Monarch Books to open a café to attract more customers. At the first glance, this recommendation seems logical. However, presented this way, the recommendation cannot be fully supported as it rests upon a couple of unsolved questions. If the Board of Directors of Monarch Books address these questions in consideration of the following points, it will make an even more compelling case for this recommendation.

First, in this recommendation the author does not explain explicitly why opening a café would attract more customers. It is possible that Monarch Books locates near a traffic hub and most of its customers are passersby who have limited time in buying books. In such a case, the café will not attract many customers as most of them do not have time. Further, some other aspects may be questioned regarding what are the most popular kinds of books, what is the age distribution of all its customers or people of which occupation tend to come more frequently because the behaviors and attitudes of different customer groups towards café may vary. In order to strengthen the validity of this recommendation, these questions needs to be answered.

Second, the author wrongly consider the decline in the percentage of the population under age ten indicates children’s book will be less popular. However, the result of the census is too general and does not provide any detail information. To illustrate, it is plausible the percentage of children in the region where Monarch Books locates is higher than that of any other regions in the country and the average decline in the percentage of children is caused by the decline in other regions. Another scenario may be the population of children in this country was very large. Even the percentage has declined, there are still many children. Therefore, more information are required to rule out these possibilities and make the recommendation more cogent.

Finally, based on the aforementioned points, the author proceeds to propose a far-fetched assertion that opening a café will help Monarch Books to better compete with Regal Books which also opened a café recently. Objection could be raised on the ground that the two book stores may locates in different areas and there is little overlap on their customers. So the two stores may not have much competition in business. Thus it is meaningless for Monarch Books to build a café.

In summary, although the author’s argument is not entirely invalid, the information included is not sufficient to fully support the recommendation. To strengthen it, more details should be provided following the above points.