The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals."In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did t

In the memo the director argues that their hospital system should supply UltraClean as it was proven to reduce the number of bacteria by 40 percent and infection cases dropped greatly in one of the hospital. This argument seems reasonable. However, it is based on a couple of assumptions. These assumptions needs to be further examined in order to prove the robustness of the argument.

First of all, this argument assumes that laboratory and hospital have the same situation. In practical use, there are many uncontrolled factors while in laboratory study settings are controlled and monitored by people. It is not reasonable to assume that people use UltraClean in laboratory have the same situation as those use UltraClean in hospital. For example, one different factor may be that people in laboratory and hospital have different types of bacteria on their hands. If there are too many differents factors in the two situations, it may not be logical use UltraClean in hospital system.

Futher, the director’s argument builds on the assumption that UltraClean will have similar effects in reducing the number of patient infection case at other hospital as that at hospital in WorkBy. Hosptials under the same system may have different functionalities which means hospital in Workby may be good at curing patient with some kinds of diseases while other hospitals are more professional in handling other diseases. Therefore, hospital in Workby accepts more patients with some specific diseases. Other hospitals may not have significant reduction in the number of patents infection as UltraClean is only powerful in killing bacteria that causes those diseases. The argument will be greatly weaken in this case.

Finally, this argument is based on the assumption that currently used liquid hand soaps can not prevent serious patient infections. This assumptions may not stands as the frequency that patients accepted by the hospital systems is not stated. The currently used liquid hand soaps may be effective enough in preventing infections but patients seldom use it. In this case, there is no need to offer UltraClean as infections are caused by the low frequency of using hand soaps.

In conclusion, the argument that the hospital systems should supply UltraClean in all hand-washing station to prevent serious infections depends on three assumptions. The argument assumes that laboratory and hospital have the same situation, UltraClean will have similar effects in reducing the number of patient infection case at other hospital as that at hospital in WorkBy and currently used liquid hand soaps can not prevent serious patient infections.