The following appeared in a memo from the Board of Directors of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Therefore, we recommend that Butler Manufacturing shorten each of its work shifts by one hour. Shorter shifts will allow Butler to improve its safety record by ensuring that its employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that Butler manufacturing had about 30% more accidents as compared to Panoply industries. The solution with respect to the argument is to reduce the shift timing to avoid the accidents.

I strongly disagree with this statement as they haven't mentioned the difference in the manufacturing industry. For example, steel plants deal with a very high amount of heat. The workers have to be very cautious and there are a lot of protocols that are to be followed. In contrast to the above company, semiconductor manufacturing plants are much safer where they are do not have to work in an high-temperature environment.

Furthermore, it might be that the employees in the Butler manufacturing company are avoiding the safety protocols which are resulting in unnecessary deaths. Had the company taken this policy under consideration, it would have led to the decline in the yearly revenue which inturn would put the company under loss.

Lastly, there is a possibility that the total number of human employees in Panoply is less than the number of employees in Butler. Panoply might be depending more on the machinery to get the work done. hence there is lesser work for a human worker.

In conclusion, as the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that Butler manufacturing company should be reducing the working hours in order to avoid accidents.