Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

The issue task states how technology while making our lives easier end up making complicated at the same time. While each side has its pros and cons, I strongly believe that technology is a gift. Furthermore, only with the help of technology, we are able to go along with our lives so easily.

First and foremost, technology educates us. 100 years ago only a select few were able to study. but now due to the advancement in technology, even the people residing in the remote corners in the world are able to gain access to knowledge. We also get to know what is happening on the earth that is invisible to the naked eye. For example, a documentary on the discovery channel described how the flora and fauna had adapted to the sub-zero temperature 6000meters below the Earth's surface.

Furthermore, technology has completely transformed the way we communicate with others. We get to speak to our friends who are residing on the other side of this planet. It is not only restricted to speech, but also video communication.

Lastly, the crop yield has been increased significantly. In the previous decade, if there were any pests, the solution was to spray the entire plantation with pesticides which in turn damages the crops. But now with the help of technology, we are able to prevent the pests from consuming the crops and at the same time avoiding the usage of pesticides. Only with the help of technology has the cost for harvesting crops has decreased significantly making food accessible to everybody.

Some may argue that technology is sustainable and helping to conserve the environment. But the very same technology is creating problems like global warming, ozone depletion, etc. This is very much like a coin having two sides. As long as there is something good, there is an equal amount of bad present. Also, technology has made the majority of the human population lethargic. Even to buy groceries, people are no longer willing to walk to the nearest stores. But still, scientists and researchers are trying to improve the versatility of technology so as to decrease the ill effects.

In conclusion, I would like to state that technology is a boon and not a bane.