Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This argument primarily focuses on the clash of ideology between Dr. Karp and Dr. Field. Dr. Field, based on his observation, states that the children in Tertia are raised by the villagers but not by the biological parents. In contrast to this, Dr. Karp and few other anthropologists believe that that interview-based approach is a more viable approach in gathering the research information.

First and foremost the argument is flawed due to the fact Dr. Field conducted his research 20 years before Dr. Karp. Maybe the children and villagers of Tertia were more reserved. When Dr. Karp conducted his research the children were very responsive and always spoke of their parents.

Furthermore one cannot just conduct research just by observing something. One has to interact with the surroundings as well as the people to get good results. Appearances are always deceptive. Had Dr. Field opted Dr. Karp's approach, the results would have been different.

Lastly, Dr. Karp gained the attention of his fellow anthropologists. The anthropologists found Dr. Karp's approach more pragmatic as compared to Dr. Field. This is more than sufficient to contradict Dr. Field's research output.

Had the argument provided information regarding how the anthropologist community responded to Dr. Field's response at the time of releasing his research, the scenario would have been different.