The following appeared in a memo from the business manager of a chain of cheese

stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both

domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling

34 cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin.

Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an

increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our

company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve

profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of

imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of a chain of cheese stores states in the given memorandum that their company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory and best way to improve profits in all its stores is by discontinuing stocking many varieties of imported cheese. In this conclusion, he does provide many facts which make the argument specious. But further analysis makes it open for debate as many unwarranted assumptions can be observed.

To begin with, the author states that last year best selling cheeses at their newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Here the author assumes that the trends for last year will follow along for this year as well. But that is not necessarily the case, for instance, it might be the case that domestic Wisconsin cheeses were an ingredient in one of the trending recipes and hence were more profitable and sold last year. As we all know trends are ephemeral and hence the author needs to take into account other reasons for the increase in the sale of these domestic cheeses.

Further, the manager also provides evidence in the form of a survey conducted by Cheese of the World magazine which indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheese among its subscribers. Here the sample size of the participants of the survey is not known and neither is it clear if this magazine is an annual magazine or a monthly printed magazine. For example, if the age group of people who were a part of the survey is between forty-five to eighty, then the given conclusion can be considered plausible as older people tend to stick to known things and generally dislike change or experimenting. Also if the magazine is printed monthly then, the author must provide which issue is he using for his reference. Hence these assumptions when provided with definite answers might help strengthen the author’s proposal.

Finally, the manager says that the company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory and improve profits by discontinuing all varieties of imported cheeses. Here he assumes that what applies to one new store will apply to other stores that are located across the United States. There might be people in say New England region visiting this store because it has the best variety of imported cheese available, hence discontinuing it in all stores might have a reverse effect than what is expected. Also, the company can come up with another way to reduce expenses, such as limiting staff in each store to say 2 people per store.

Thus before accepting the business manager’s proposal, many unwarranted assumptions such as if the trend from last is going to continue this year, what applies to one new store will necessarily apply to all the chain stores, and how legitimate the survey result given by Cheese of the World magazine need to be answered to avoid business loss.