The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.
"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of
new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double
over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the
average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will
find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would
make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."
Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the
argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.
In this memo, the director of student housing at Buckingham College is suggesting to
increase the number of dormitories based on claims that she has assumed. But she fails to
provide any hard evidence to support the claim. There are some unstated assumptions which
she made to prove her arguments.
Firstly, author makes an assumption that the rate of enrollment of new students will not
decrease in the future. Suppose, for some reasons the new students are likely to be enrolled in
other colleges than this one.That may happen that in future the number of new student will not
increase at all. So claim of the author that in next 50 years, number of new student will be
doubled, is solely based assumption on current trends.
In addition, the current occupancies of dormitories is not mentioned. There could be
some empty dormitories are available. Even it is possible that there are very few students who
are living in the dormitories. These vacant dormitories may accommodate enough students who
are newly enrolled. So there would be no need to build new dormitories.
Furthermore, the author is claiming that the average rent for an apartment in her town
has risen which will cause more students to prefer living in dormitories over the apartments. In
this claim author is assuming that the rate of average rent of an apartment will keep rising. In
the real estate there are highs and lows. No one can really predict the rent for the future. There
may be possible that, after some years it would more cheap to live in an apartment rather than
in a dormitory. Also sharing of an apartment among people can make the rent affordable.